Choice of ‘Death Place’

While reading the article, “Narrating Location: Space, Age and Gender among Bengali Elders in East London” by Katy Gardner, I could not refrain my thoughts regarding death. As Gardner quotes Hannerz, who says, “The earth where I’ve buried my father is where I want to be buried.” This sentence compelled me to make my own notion about choosing my ‘death place.’ While I went through the text, I found the Bengali families working hard in Britain all their youth but wanting to die in their own motherland, Bangladesh. In this regard, I realized that I share different view. For me, as long as people work for their country and contribute something to the human race, it does not matter where they die. If they pour their sweat and toil in foreign land and flourish the economy of that land, what is the use of occupying the space of home country coming back just to rest their old and weak body? Saying this, I am still answerless for why people take the place of dying with such strong feelings?

 

On thinking about it with more objective view, I somehow found answers to my question regarding ‘death place.’ I realized that the Bengali migrants in the article had ended up in Britain lacking job in Bangladesh. Moreover, these Bengalis had sent remittance to Bangladesh. The other point that made me to think about my argument of “sweat and toil” is that these migrants had changed themselves to adjust with the situation and environment of the host country, and once they change themselves, it is difficult to retreat back to past habits and behaviors. In addition, these migrants in Britain are used to more sophisticated life than Bangladesh and they are accustomed to receiving government services, which are not available in Bangladesh. Thus, I came to the conclusion that it was a way of showing their respect to their motherland for those who wish to take their last breath in their own homeland. However, these people are somewhat selfish because they want their relatives to pay tribute at their funeral, which is not possible if they die in foreign land.

 

Although I tried think about ‘death place’ from two different sides, I still hold my view that it makes no difference where I take my last breath. The only thing that matters is whether I contribute to my home country or not.

Leave a Reply

