Mysteries about Lying!!!

Judith Viorst has mentioned forms of lying that seem
appropriate and necessary to be told. Social lies are told to maintain our
relationships (181); peace-keeping lies are created to “avoid irritation and
arguments” (182); protective lies are made up to protect our loved ones (183),
and trust-keeping lies are produced to keep our promises (184), for example. Today,
I will present to you different forms of lying that are easy to avoid, but we
human beings usually don’t want to do so. Are you curious? Are you fond of discovering
these enigmas?

Fun-making Lies

These lies are relevant to playing tricks on others.
We use them as a kind of diversion. We use them to make our friends happy. We
use them to push away depressed faces.

Before making these lies, we analyze their pros and
cons, but later, we sacrifice guilty feelings with smiles.

For instance, one of my friends imitated our
teacher’s voice and asked us to come to the conference room to talk about our
study results. At that time, our hearts were out of our bodies. However, when
finding out the truth, all of us burst out laughing.

Sometimes, feeling bored, I make up stories to deceive
friends, but later I feel guilty. How about you?

Reliable Lies

These lies are told to make others believe us.

Do you ever give your words to study so that your
friend agrees to work a group with you, but the concealed reason is because you
want to be with her? Similarly, before being voted, electors promise to do many
things. However, how many do have the abilities to realize all of their promises?

These lies are also called self-protective lies. To
become good images on others’ eyes, we somehow have to make up stories in which
we become either heroes or victims.

Do you tell your mother that because of playing
basketball, your fingers were injures? Or will you concede this wound is the
result of pillow fights with your sister at midnight?

Are you willing to acknowledge that your laziness
caused to your bad grades? Or will you make some excuses: “This test is too
difficult,” or “I was sick in that day, so I could not study”? I seem to be tempted
to tell lies. How about you?

Self-deceptive Lies

These lies
are apparent in the play “Death of the Salesman” by Auther Miller. For
instance, Willy faced self-deception when he put his too many expectations on
Biff. Under his eyes, Biff was a hero, who was admired and respected by many
people, including Oliver; however, it turned out to be that he was only a
shipping clerk, a thief, and a jobless boy. I don’t like this theme because Willy
was more devastated when the truth was divulged. How about you?

However, these lies are good in some cases. In fact,
they help us keep our morale and zeal to sustain endeavoring. “Everything will
be okay.” Many times I try to sedate myself before obstacles by murmuring these
words. How about you?

One Response to Mysteries about Lying!!!

  1. vythai says:

    Dear Tram,
    Excellent blog entry. You have discovered and related more kinds of lying that Voist didn’t mention. You gave and reminded me of these kinds of lies in my lives.
    You ask me about fun-making lies. Actually, i am not good at talking to others, so I think I have never told such lies. You tell your story of telling lies to make your friends happy in the case that all of you are bored. What about the lies for a friend who is in desperation, and you have no way to make her smile except these fun–making lies. I think in these cases, lies are acceptable and I won’t feel guilty. What do you think?
    You ask me about reliable lies. I agree with you that sometimes we have to tell lies to make others not worried about us, or not be upset. And many times we also want to protect ourselves. I often feel guilty and angy with my self that i am so cowardly that I cannot be responsible with myself. And I want to change. What do you think?
    You ask me about self-deceptive lies. I also approve of you that it has two pro and cons aspects depending on situations. However, I am scared that we get addicted to telling lies, especially falling in the circle like Biff who has miserable life. And when he can get out of that lying, he seems to be free. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

