Willy Loman’s Journal (ACT TWO)

9 February 1949.

I am happy today. My son, Biff, is heading to start his own business. I will definitely celebrate his initiative tonight. Now, I will have all the things
that I have always wanted.  Now that my son has agreed to comply, I am sure I won’t have all these junkyard anymore. Also, when I die this house won’t be owned by strangers; instead, my grandchildren will live and grow here. Now, I think, I should retire my travelling business. I can sit in one place, and I will sell merchandise through phone calls as Dave Singleman used to do in his eighties. Oh! He was the man; he was the hero. He used to make sales in thirty-one countries without travelling, so I have decided I will do the same. I will meet Howard tomorrow and talk to him
about this. Ha! He will be pleased to offer me this job that’s for sure.

10 February 1949.

Why life always treats me the same? I hoped-in fact-I was sure to get the job like Dave, but Howard, my so called boss, fired me. I will be penniless. My wife will suffer again; she will suffer from poverty and disgrace. I know a poor and dumb person will never get respect in the society. I will not have any richness to show them. Moreover, my son has failed his attempt to ask loan from Oliver. I am ashamed to say that my son is worthless.  I always thought that Biff would be more successful and richer than Bernard, but I see the opposite. I don’t know what he will do with his life without business. Oh Lord! Give me some advice. Show me some ways to heal this problem.

(After few minutes)

Yes, I will do it. I will kill myself. I see no other way better than this. My accident will be ransom to recover my family’s poverty. Linda and Biff will get 20,000$ from my death and car insurance company. With this money, Biff can start his own business and earn his living. Linda can also live with this money for some time, and as Biff starts his business, he will accommodate her with the expenses. Yes, I am going to this. Today, when I will pass the little bridge, I will speed up and smash with the railing. This time I will succeed in committing suicide, but this will never be called as a suicide. It will be called as an accident. Oh Lord! My wishes have failed many times. I dreamed to own business larger than Charley, but it has never been true. I dreamed about Biff becoming rich and settled, but he has lost all this confidence and charm. Therefore, Lord, I deeply want this wish to come true. As a living man, I cannot do any great things to my family, but my death will sure make some good to them. Amen.

2 Responses to Willy Loman’s Journal (ACT TWO)

  1. roksanahasib says:

    Wow!
    I’m impressed the way you have portrayed Willy’s thoughts through his journals. I must tell you that i personaly also think about Willy the same way you have said. In my blog about this play, i have also said something similar about Willy. Your journal has made my ideas about Willy more justified. I am sure that if Willy ever had a journal that must have sound like your one. I had a great time reading your blog entry.

    Thank you.

  2. Masooma says:

    Dear Anshu,
    It was interesting to read the journal of Willy from a different perspective. I still don’t know if what Willy did was the best solution for the problem. It is very sad to see that how financial crisis brings people under such pressure that they end up committing suicide. However, his action at the end changed my idea about Willy. From the begging of the play, he was introduced as an impatient, obstinate, and angry father who ignored others’ ideas. The man who made mistakes, betrayed his wife, and compared his children to others instead of valuing them for what they were. Nonetheless, his decision at the end, to give a meaning to his life and sacrifice it for the benefit of others, is respectable. He could have remained alive, accept Charlie’s job offer, live a normal life, and enjoy a better relationship with his sons. But he decided to end his life and help his family in that way. Maybe it was not the best thing to do, but he did it with his love for his family. And that is what makes his action remarkable.

Leave a Reply

