Poverty is Stealing

When I read the lines dealing with the act of stealing brush by Vasant Moon in the chapter, “Dev Master’s Curse Fails”, the first thing that came into my mind was, Poverty is Stealing. Moon’s poverty coerced him to pick up Tambe’s brush since he did not own one. Though he had Hari Patil, his benefactor, who was more than happy to help him, he was much embarrassed to vomit out his poverty for a brush.

Moon was involved in the act of stealing time and again. He, along with Sukhya, Gangya, and Bala, stole fruits  to satisfy their hunger. They even offered the left over to younger children and sometimes to their families as well. It seemed to be a normal act to steal fruits to Vasant and his friends, and they were not punished for that. A different fear ran inside me when I pictured these acts of stealing while reading, “Heat and Rain”. I thought what if they turn to develop this habit into a means to run their livelihood. The stealing of fruits can serve as foundation for severe forms of stealing in the future. My fear somewhat came true when I encountered Moon picking up the fallen brush of Tambe and putting it inside his bag. Although my fear slightly went away with the guilty feeling of Moon, I could not resist thinking about other boys, Moon’s friends, who did not go to school. There were chances for some of them to turn into infamous thieves in the future.

When I reached to the part where Moon drank cold water to comfort his empty stomach at night, I thought he had no choice than to steal fruits from the neighborhood and surrounding area to satisfy his hunger. After reading these acts of stealing and the remorse of Moon, I became quite sympathetic towards thieves. On the other hand, I got the point that there is always some social factors responsible for crimes and anarchisms in the society.

While I was picturing and reasoning the situation as described by Moon, I could not resist myself thinking about the speaker’s tragedy in “What is Poverty?” by Jo Goodwin Parker. I tried to compare Moon’s family and the speaker of Parker’s essay’s family and come to the conclusion whose life was more miserable; I could not. In fact, both the families were the victims of severe forms of poverty.

Leave a Reply

