The Career Not Taken

The poem “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost described that the speaker was confused while choosing a path between two roads. He chose the second path, which was less traveled by people, and he was content with this decision. Similar to the speaker, many people face this dilemma in their lives. I also faced this dilemma in my life before coming to AUW. I want to share that story with you.

When I passed my 12th standard, I appeared in three entrance exams. Two of them were engineering exams and the other was the entrance exam of Asian University for Women . Fortunately, I was able to pass all the exams. Therefore, I had two options. First was getting admission in AUW, and the other was in the rest two engineering institutes in India. In those days, I was facing trouble which career would be better for me. As I was more interested in taking science courses, of course, I wanted to go in one of those engineering institutes. However, AUW was also luring me since it is a well-known international university. Finally, I chose AUW, and I am very content after coming here. I never feel sorry that I didn’t choose the engineering college.  I know that I am learning more here in comparison to an engineering institute.

Now, I want to write a poem on above condition in style of Robert Frost’s poem “The Road Not Taken.”

              The Careers Not Taken

Two careers offered after I passed intermediate,

And sorry I could not take both

As it is necessary to choose one course

I looked at my future life with both careers as far as I could

But I can’t foresee them after five years;

I took the second because it’s more renowned,

And perhaps it lures me, and better for me and my family,

Because it is new and wanted to admit me;

Though as I got admission in it

I found that many girls are studying here.

And both were equally attractive

My future is bright in both fields.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing I can’t return back to the first,

After getting into the second career

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere, after one or two decades:

Two careers split when I was seventeen, and I—

I took the one less taken,

And that adds more stars in my glorious life.

2 Responses to The Career Not Taken

  1. vythai says:

    Dear Savitri, you have a very interesting poem. So shrewd to connect your own experience to the poem “The Road Not Taken.” I enjoyed reading it alot. It is so great that you are happy with your own choice. Savor your time, and make your path more beautiful. I know that you are so optimistic; therefore, i venture thinking that even though your choice is not perfect as you wish, you will make it also more glorious, don’t you? Maybe you can make it brighter than the first one, I believe so.

  2. Thank you Thu,
    I like your comments. I am not sad rather I am very happy that I got such a good university. I love this university and want to continue my studies here. one more thing is that you always give reply to my blogs which are very encouraging.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

