Response to “The Road Not Taken”

         I found the poem, “The Road Not Taken”, written by Robert Frost truly inspiring and practical. Everyone in his or her life faces this kind of situation or dilemma where “one” has to be chosen over the other. This “one” can be either path or people and often our choice makes a huge difference on our lives. As shown in the poem, the speaker has to choose one of the two paths and believes in the future he will be in relief for choosing that path that has make the difference in his life. When I read this poem, I reminisced about my own days when I was pondering about my career. I still remember that day when I was left confused in my room without knowing whether leaving my place, my family, and my country to come to Bangladesh is right decision or not. After my intermediate, I knew that my family would not be able to pay for my higher studies. My family wanted me to come here, but my friends didn’t. I was not sure what would be the best for me and which way my career would be good. Listening to my people and my friends made my choice even more difficult. Then I took decision of coming to AUW. Today, I don’t regret for taking this decision and I feel good studying at AUW in multi cultural environment with my lovely friends and caring teachers. I now know that my future will be bright.

           Life is never easy and choices always affect our upcoming days. Taking right decision on right time is very important. But in my view, while taking decision, we should not comply with others. Instead, self satisfaction should be involved so that we won’t be regretting in the future. From this poem it can be learned that always choosing the easy way is not necessary. Sometimes, the way which people rarely take should be tried in order to get the difference in our lives. Every time searching for the easiest way is not good. Moreover, rather than listening to others, I believe, we should listen to our heart and take steps because by doing so, I have never regretted so far in my life.

Leave a Reply

