As I Look Back

I have found the poem “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost very inspiring. The poem talks about the dilemma and confusion that every person faces in some point of their life. We make choices, more or less, in every phase of our life and each and every choice leads to another. And that is how, through making decisions, we reach to our destiny.

However, it’s not easy to make decision and reach to our goal. Most of the time, we get stuck in the web of confusion and dilemma. Nevertheless, those who follow their instincts and have the power to take challenges, find it easy to overcome those barriers of confusion and dilemma. As a result, when they look back, they find that all the choices that were made and all the decision that were taken actually worked like steps of ladder to help them to reach their goal.

Looking back in my life, I also see myself making some choices same as the narrator of the poem has done. After completing my twelve grade, I was supposed to take preparation for the entrance test to get admission into a good university. My parents left the choice upon me whether I wanted to go to an engineering university or a medical school as engineer and doctor are the two most popular profession in our country. However, I choose none of them because I didn’t wanted to be a doctor or engineer like thousand other boys and girls of my country. In fact, I wanted to be something different although I didn’t know what it was. I decided to take a chance and explore myself. Therefore, I got admission in a public university. In the mean time, I came to know about AUW from one of my friends and immediately said, “This is where I want to study.” Unfortunately, since it was almost the end of the year and the admission date was closed in AUW, I didn’t get the admission form that year. Therefore, I had to wait a whole year. The next year, I gave entrance exam in AUW as I had planned and got admission. I quit the public university.  As the public university was very far and the communication system wasn’t very good, my parents and family members were happy that I got admission in AUW and  would be able to stay close at home. However, I also know that if I were studying in any engineering or medical school, my parents and family members would not ever let me to quit that. So my decision of not giving entrance exam in engineering or a medical school worked as a plus point for me to reach to my destiny.

Now, as I look back I can see that all the decisions and choices I made were all meant to take me where I am now and don’t feel regret for any of them.

Leave a Reply

