The Joy Luck Club

The book, The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan, contains the stories of relationships between the mothers and daughters. Through this book, we can understand the generation gap and society affect the understanding between the mothers and daughters. Each character of the book has his or her own sorrows. The mothers, who had emigrated from China to America, have trouble understanding their daughters, who were born and brought up in America. The mothers of the stories seem very superstitious, yet they have adapted well in American society and have known their daughters very well.

Now, we have finished reading this book. It really feels great that we have become able to finish another book after Shabanu and The Little Prince. Talking about The Joy Luck Club, it was really fun to read about the relationships between the mothers and their daughters. Being a daughter, I really liked the chapters which talked about the misunderstanding between the mothers and their daughters as they are similar to that of the relationships in real lives. Similarly, through this book we come to understand many historic facts about China as well as the beliefs regarding old Chinese culture.

From the first section of the chapters, we can relate ourselves in the place of the daughters and consider if we are fulfilling our mothers’ dreams or not. Are we able to reach towards their expectations? For me, I had never thought about what my mother’s hope for me was. I had never ever tried to know what she expected from me. For example, Jing-Mei Woo, in the first chapter, “The Joy Luck Club” did not know much about her mother. She never tried to understand her mother and by the time she realized it, it was already too late. Similarly, we learned that the mothers of Jing-Mei and Waverly used to compare them. It can be related with our lives. I reminisce about those days when my mom used to compare me with my cousins. Whenever they got good grades, she used to give me their examples. That time, I always used to wonder why only my mother kept on comparing me with others. There was also a time when my mother used to be proud of me whenever I used to listen to her and do everything she wished me to do.

Besides, relating my childhood with the stories, I also became fascinated by the cultural facts of the Chinese culture mentioned in the book. I never knew about the Red Candle, the Moon Lady, the concubines in China, or the belief regarding seeing things before hand till I read the book. These things have made the book more interesting. However, the name of the characters and the stories regarding mothers’ mothers really confused me. It was complicated to remember whom the chapter was about, mostly while reading the book a night before the quiz.

About pratibhatandukar
student

2 Responses to The Joy Luck Club

  1. shinyday14 says:

    Hello dear friends.
    My dear friend Pratiba has mentioned the facts that I wanted to say. Indeed, reading this book not only was a fun but also it was like a lesson. Through reading this book, I learned many things, Chinese culture, misunderstandings that are common between children and their parents (especially girls and mothers), problems of migrants and that how it affects children and parents’ minds and relationship if they know about each others’ past and secrets. I found that many problems and misinterpretations would not exist only if we try to sit down and listen to each others’ words even only once. It is the fact that many of the arguments or misunderstandings are only because we don’t know each other, so we believe whatever is easier to understand from the transferred words and shown gestures. If we know one another’s point of view, we can figure it out what she (mother) is going to say. We even do not need to hear words to translate the thoughts and emotions into voice and words.
    Thank you friend to share your ideas. You made me wonder about my relationship with my mother and really think what my mother expects from me.
    I wish we can find the best ways to make our parents’ wishes and expectations come true.

  2. ansadhikari says:

    Hey cchaman,
    I liked the way you summarized the whole text reflecting the main theme. I also liked your conclusion part, where you brought the topic of Chinese culture, the examples of Chinese culture, which has fasinated to me too.Moreover, I am glad to know that you also have an interest in learning about Chinese culture like me. Your overall evaluation is good and brief. Good luck for the exam!!
    With love,
    Anshu.
    P.S. Oiee cchaman, bayakaran mai chai ali dhyan deula. Tya bayakar ma galti chha jasle garda guruaamale hamro ek aangka katnu hunchha =)

Leave a Reply

