love is..

Upon hearing the word love, we directly think of the relationship between male and female, especially the ‘College love,’ the crush, and all. A smile appears on our face when we talk of love and related topics because we directly think of the love as the ‘love’ between the two opposite sex. Of course, this is what love is but there are many other possible meanings of love too. Take a moment and think broadly what love actually is.

I feel that ultimately love is what we show to others—the care we have for others and the help we provide them, and being altruistic. Isn’t this what love is? Isn’t this what we do when we feel love and is it not how we tend to response to love? One loves someone else and so he/she tends to do things that benefits and helps and pleases the other, things that makes the other happy, this is what love is! Love is everywhere, within the family, among friends, etc. love is something that cannot be forced /compelled to feel. This feeling comes from within with the appreciation, admiration and other such feelings etc.

Love can take place anywhere with any one at any moment. Here, when I say anyone I meant the ones whom you have known, the ones with whom you interact with. It even includes the things that you have in your surrounding that you interacted with every day, every time– Animals too. I loved my pet. But now I miss it as it died in an accident, years ago. I know many of you also have pets and you too do love and care it.

Love has different forms and it is displayed differently depending on the individual how they convey it. We have known love as being kind, caring, advising, giving gifts and all. The other form is the harsh way. Love also exists in the form of scold, punishment and hate (though for a short period of time). When we do some mistakes knowingly or unknowingly, we are either scolded or punished by elders (parents, friends. Siblings, teachers) even our colleagues scold us or at times they become angry at us. And what does this imply? The only reason they do is to make us realize our mistakes, they do so because they care for us. They love us. They are worried about us and so they react this way and only the ones who are close to us, who knows us better than others become angry to us and show their love in a harsh manner. After all this action of theirs is going to benefit us and make us better individual. So love is not limited and there are much more to learn and explore about love.

One Response to love is..

  1. dorjiom says:

    Hi Yogeeta,
    I am sorry about your pet. I can feel the pain of losings one’s favourite animal. It’s because I also had the same experience before coming to AUW. My favoutrite pussy cat died. She was killed by a street dog. It was my mistake. I could have kept her inside my bedroom that night. Although, she is no more alive, I still miss her because I love her very much. It’s true that with wealth we can buy everything but not love. My mom bought another cat but I failed to love it as much as i did to my late cat.. Love gives us hope and hope makes our life rational. Therefore, live, laugh and love. 🙂 Yogeeta, you mentioned that love cannot be forced or compeled, I didn’t understand that part. Do you mean love cannot be taught?

Leave a Reply

