The Turning Point for Jing-Mei Woo

According to Amy Tan, the few stories of the Joy Luck Club are the incidents where the daughters and the mothers had a gap in communication and thereby in understanding. However, when the book is reaching the last part, the latest few stories talks about how they succeeded in having effective communication and thereby got closer and understandable. Do you think this change on them is a random process? No, definitely not, every change is a result of one or many interventions – perhaps a main event, so these main events can be called as turning points.

Similarly, in the story “Best Quality” by Jing-Mei Woo, also has a turning point where it made a great change in her and her mother’s relationship and understanding. That is when Jing-Mei gave the best crab between the two remaining crab to her mother, Suyuan Woo. During this incident her mother realizes Jing-Mei’s altruistic nature and good side that was possessed by her that was very obvious during this party.

Before this incident, her mother always thought her daughter as a negative character. She did always try to compare Jing-Mei with Waverly and insult her daughter, but after this incident, she stopped comparing Jing-Mei with others due to the fact that she discovered her daughter as a unique character.

When Suyuan Woo gave the life’s importance to her Jing-Mei, she asked if she had given this because of that previous night’s incident. Then her mother, herself, said why she should compare with others. She insulted Waverly at that time comparing her to a crab that was in the waste bucket! This clearly reveals that they both have come to a good understanding and will have intimacy in the future. Perhaps this would have given Jing-Mei the freedom of not being compared with others by her mother.

My mom also always used to compare me with one of my best friends. I am good at academic, while she was comparatively good at doing house hold activities and other stuff. I feel angry when my mom continuously annoys me telling that my friend is doing well and I am not. Once I was harsh on her asking her not to compare me with others. If she was satisfied with my friend, I told her to exchange my friend and me with her parents’ permission! Since my father was in favor me, he also told my mom not to compare me with others hereafter. After that she never did. So I can feel how it would have annoyed Jing-Mei when her mom compared her with Waverly continuously. Finally, this turning point gave her a good solution for their better existence.

3 Responses to The Turning Point for Jing-Mei Woo

  1. aditi27 says:

    Dear friend,
    I really appreciate the way you have explored the turning point in the relationship between Jing-mei and her mother. You have openly spoke from a daughter’s point of which in the concluding paragraph, which I also feel the same. However, it does not necessarily imply that your mother thought of annoying you by comparing you with your best friend. As you have mentioned that you were good in academics, she might have wanted you to be an epitome of the best daughter, someone who was good at academics as well as households. I think wherever we go and whatever position we occupy, we need to be able to handle our households (both men and women). So, I do not think it was so appropriate to become harsh at your mother. Dear friend, we always should remember that our mothers never think evil of us. Though you might have been reaaly bothered at that time, you should have once thought from your mother’s perspective.
    Any way, you are a good daughter. aren’t you? So you will make her proud of having a daughter like you.
    Good luck!

    • mumthaz says:

      Yeah, I know what my mom expected from me, but I am also an ordinary girl right? I can only be how I am, not how I am expected to be by the society because I possess certain abilities and lack certain abiliteis. Yet I defenitely care my parents’ words and try to be the best and make them satisfied with what I have and how I can. 🙂

  2. papunauw says:

    Dear Mumtaz,
    I enjoyed reading your blog as i also had this kind of experience in my life. I think, more or less, every person has faced comparision in his or her life. Comparision is something my parents have used as a motivation to inspire me to do better. They think it will inspire me to do better. Sometimes, it motivates me to do better in my studies and other extra curriculam activities. However, sometimes it annoys me same way it do to you. Sometimes it also makes me feel frustrated and decline my spirit. In spite of all this, i don’t have any hard feelings towards my parents since i know that whatever they do is for my betterment, although sometimes their ways are not favourable for me.

Leave a Reply

