Year’s End

In this blog, I want to change the point of view of the story “Year’s End.” I want to write a part of the story in Chitra’s point of view instead of Kaushik’s point of view. The story is —

I heard the news that I was going to get married with a person who lives in America. As I am a widow, I couldn’t believe that I would get such a good man. I always get disrespect from society, yet Mr. Chaudury wants to marry me. Since I am a teacher, I don’t have any economic problem in my life. However, I need a partner to share my feelings, and lastly I got him. I know that it will be very difficult for me to live with him because he is like an American. His lifestyle is completely different from mine. In addition to this, his age is approximately double my age, and he has a son who is like my brother. Moreover, both of them are very quiet people. How will my two daughters and I live in their home? On the other hand, he is a good and wealthy man. Furthermore, it is like a dream comes true that I will live in America and be able to give a better education to my daughters. I am in a dilemma whether to marry him or not. I don’t know if I am happy or sad, but I told him that I agreed to his proposal. (After few months) I reached America, but I had trouble speaking English. Moreover, I can see that Kaushik, my stepson, is not happy with me. I always want to make him happy, but he doesn’t want to live with me and my daughters. He went to a hostel to complete his graduation. I am alone here. I become so bored that I want to do something. No one understands my language, and I can’t understand them. Therefore, I don’t have any friends. I wish to speak English fluently. One day, I will communicate with everyone. I will have a job, friends, and happiness.

Just compare Chitra with the mothers of the novel, The Joy luck club. They have similar experience. Every mother had migrated to America and wanted to communicate with her daughters, but their daughters didn’t understand them. Similarly, Chitra has also migrated to America, and she also faced difficulty communicating with people.

Leave a Reply

