Why You Have To Hide…?

The day after, I and my mother didn’t talk to each other. Day by day, I saw the distance between us grew bigger and bigger. She didn’t ask me to go to the market with her anymore, but I was not also supposed to do the housework. I had more time to practice playing chess by myself. I understood some new tactics, but I felt a little bit bored as no one could defeat me. One day, I asked my Vincent to play the game and promised to make three concessions. Knowing that he wouldn’t agree, I offered more candy and doing the household chores for him as rewards. I saw the hesitation on his face; suddenly he refused and went out of the room. I got angry and turned to my room. I glanced at my mother sitting on the chair next to the room. Then, I was dubious that she coerced my brother not to play with me. “She might want to punish me, how could a mother treat like that with her only daughter,” I asked myself. For a long time later, I bitterly got angry until my brother provoked me to play with him. My mother might want to comfort our relationship, but I didn’t reveal my thought. We started the game. He won. I was absolutely appalled; I didn’t believe in that truth. There was a mistake. I required him to play another game. The wind was still blowing; it obviously instructed me to go by this way. He won again.  Three more matches were his triumphs.

After being sad for many days later, I asked him about his conception of any wind. There was no wind at all. Instead, my mother was the one who had always taught my brother to play the game, the game that she was believed to know nothing. How could I accept the implausible statement? I bitterly run to her room, but she had gone to the market. I saw a few sheets of paper filled with squiggly handwriting in English about the game instruction.

I looked at her during the dinner but she expressed nothing. All the whole night, I was awake conceiving everything had happened.

I think this ending is well-fitting because although the generation gap between mothers and daughters exists, the author should make them each other understand more. Waverly Jong should know that her mother always wanted her to be happy, to be independent and different from her life, but it was not like the way she acted. She had to know that the strength of the wind she inherited was from her mother. Then, in spite of her continuous misunderstanding, she at least realized one of her mother’s secrets.

Thu Nguyen

3 Responses to Why You Have To Hide…?

  1. shinyday14 says:

    Dear Vythai, you had written a creative story. You had considered some small and important details like the wind that she could feel and Waverly’s unpleasant behavior with her mother and used them to build your own story. You had been able to extend the story as your view point, however, in my idea there are some frigid points that could improve your story. For example, if you could let your protagonist finishes the story by herself, it could be better than writing your point of view and making conclusion. Moreover, in your story the reason of Vincent’s refusal was somehow gray. Was it really because her mother had restrained him from playing with Waverly or her arrogance had inhibited Vincent from her? Did Waverly discover that she has changed and this change is bothering others? What was the secret of her mother? Do you mean that her mother knew playing chess? All these questions aside, again I would like to admire your story and creativity.

    • vythai says:

      Dear Shinday14, thanks for your recommend. they are very helpful for me to improve myself. i’d to answer your question. that Vincent refused to play with Waverly because their mothers wanted him to understand clearly the tactics to certainly win the game, because Waverly was very ingenious. i think you got my point that her mother knew to play chess, but she wanted Waverly to understand it by herself. moverover, it’s hard for the mother to teach them because she couln’t speak English very well. and i don’t really understand this question(who is she)
      “Did Waverly discover that she has changed and this change is bothering others?

  2. tdenkar says:

    Your imaginative power to create this story is excellent. You wrote the story in such a manner that would have probably happened if Amy Tan had written the ending of this chapter. You portrayed the conflicts that Waverly Jong and her mother had undergone. I like the part where you depicted the feeling of love between Jong and her mother. Though they could not really understand each other, they love and care about each other. From what I read so far, I noticed that her mother wasn’t as friendly as other mothers usually do. There was always a clash depicted between Jong and her mother. Fortunately, you have made up a good ending. However, you wrote that Waverly had to know that she inherited the strength of the wind from her mom. Is it because she won various chess competition because of her mother’s invisible strength? From my point, I think she won because of her cleverness and talents to apply the techniques she learnt Lau Po , guidebooks from Chinatown library, and part of her mother’s tactics also. I really don’t think her mother’s invisible strength is the reason behind her success.

Leave a Reply

