In Pursuit of Love

While reading the poem “On Love” by Khalil Gibran, I felt like drowning myself in the ocean of love. Suddenly! I restrained myself from diving into the ocean when I remembered the pain that I am prone to get there. Then I was in dilemma, “What shall I do?” So, I quickly searched for the sheet and went through the poem. I read each line vigilantly. Then this thought strike into my mind that life is worthy with seasonal ups and downs. It would be a hollow life to laugh without happiness and to cry without sorrow. Knowing that the path was indeed painful, I determined to aspire to steal the delight of love that would cherish some moment of my life.

After resolving that controversy of my mind and heart, I began lingering up with the question that “Who is going to assist me in diving and when?” This question coerced me to go back to the poem once more. There I found the line where it was alluding that love itself would direct the course. For some time, I was relieved. Again, I started to wonder “How is love going to direct me?” I didn’t find any answer. However, I decided to wait for the love itself to direct me (not knowing how).

Having resolved these queries, I decided to read the poem again. This was the time when some eccentric fear ran inside me. I began worrying what if I was deceived by my beloved. Or if had to forego him because of some adverse situations. Will I be able to help myself out of that pathetic condition? Can I feel the same me inside me like the past? These questions started jingling into my ears compelling me to press my hands against my ears. Then I was bound to leave my mind blank for some time.

It’s after some rest that I was able to infer that no matter what happens, our life continues. We have to condemn the facts of time and get accustomed to new situations. The theory of “Struggle for Existence” introduced by Charles Darwin led me to see the laws of nature where one tries the best to fit into the changing situations. I understood that love is the essence of life and no one is left untouched of it. The only difference is in realization of it. Thus, I am looking forward for love to direct my course.

Leave a Reply

