Response to “Going Ashore”

After reading “Going Ashore”, I was left astonished. The first question that arose on my mind was – “Why is the ending this way?” As I started to analyze this story from different points of view I got stuck with lots of questions on my mind. Honestly, I didn’t become successful to get myself involved through the phases of the story. I didn’t find this story much meaningful or convincing to me. All the occurrences in this story made me ask myself- “so what? What does it matter?” From one point that Hema didn’t marry or stayed with Kaushik, I felt good or happy. For those, who only know how to give order instead of being responsible for others- it’s good not to prefer to those kind of people who leave you independent and never tries to bind you. On the other hand, life of Kaushik and Hema had been portrayed in such a way that it made me feel confused and the problems they were facing, totally seemed like a drama to me. It was not successful enough to attract me into its essence and make me feel as I am also living in this story. Each character were living their own life, being apart from their near and dear ones. So how does this story reflect the importance of family? What I understood from this story is that, wife is only needed to take care of husband and to make love. (From Kaushik’s father’s example) It’s only the loneliness of people that brings two bodies together and makes them one. But when they realize that they have already someone waiting for them they get separated. Even though they love each other, one wrong way of approaching finishes everything in relationship. (From the relationship status between Kaushik and Hema) For me it’s not like that. If we love someone, it is forever and company is not needed only to make love. It’s needed to share our lives in every step we make. I totally disagree to the idea which I got from this story. May be it’s my weakness not to get what it wants to convey or I don’t want to see it- either way, I didn’t get attached with the feelings here. I guess the story would have been better if the ending was with the reunion of kaushik and family. Moreover, part of Navin was also not focused even though he played a vital role indirectly in changing the decision of Hema and compelled her to compare Navin and Kaushik. Overall I found this story unsatisfactory.

Jyoti

Leave a Reply

